On this Thanksgiving Day

On  this Thanksgiving Day

This holiday was founded as a time set aside to thank God for the blessings of the year.  As I remember this, I find myself reflecting on those things that I am personally thankful for.

To start with, my parents parents and grandparents had the good sense to choose immigrate and to live in the greatest country in the world, thus allowing me to grow up with a full belly and the ability to read.

I am thankful for my wife and my children and their children.  I am thankful that I live in a place where technology allows me to easily communicate with them from more than a thousand miles away.

I am thankful that I live in a country where power can shift from one philosophy of governing to another without bloodshed.   A country where the dissenting viewpoint is not censored or stifled.

I am thankful that I live in a country where over 80% of the people agree with me that God is real.  I am thankful to my God for the life he has given me and for life itself for that matter.  I am thankful to His Son who made it permanent.

I am thankful for those who went before me in the military to allow me the privilege of living in a free society.  I am thankful that I am not speaking German or Japanese.

I am thankful for my home, my community, my state and my country.

I don’t know why God decided I should be so privileged, to live where food and energy are plentiful.  I am humbled and grateful.  Grateful that I was not born in Uzbekistan.

Thank you God….  For all you do.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Published in: on November 27, 2008 at 8:49 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://p3bfco.wordpress.com/2008/11/27/on-this-thanksgiving-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Very well said.

    I opened a site also. Check it out: julieartist.wordpress.com.


Leave a Reply

