Where to begin….

WARNING: This post contains opinions that may be injurious to the sensitivities of some on the left.  Liberals are cautioned to stop reading here.

Where to begin….

There is so much that is going on in Washington that I think is detrimental to a free society I do not know where to begin.  Never in my upper middle aged life have I found our national leader standing on the other side of EVERY issue.

Needless to say, as a very right of center – constitution focused conservative, I have never agreed 100% with any President in my lifetime.  However, this time (and thus far) I have found NOTHING that President Obama has done that I think is a good idea.  From appointments to killing workfare, nothing this man has done, in my opinion, has been good for our “free” country.

Here’s a short list where we dissagree:

Atomic energy

Border security

Cash to failing banks / businesses

Drilling for oil (offshore and elsewhere)

Energy policy (Cap & Trade legislation)

Federal funding for abortion 

Gitmo (Guantanamo Bay)

Health and Human Services Secretary

Insurance company AIG Bailout

Jay Leno

Kyoto Treaty and so called “global warming”

Labor union “Card Check” legislation

Mammoth deficit spending

Nuclear weapons development

Omnibus spending bill

Power / fuel generation from coal

Quitting the fight in Iraq just as we are winning

Regulating the pay and bonuses of all private businesses. (new today)

Stimulus bill

Talking with the enemy without preconditions

United Nations Ambassador

Veterans required to pay for war injuries with their private health plans

Wyoming Oil Shale

Xecutive orders (ok… I cheated)

Youtube video to Iran

Zibigniew Brzezinski as advisor on the economy. (NSA For Carter).

 

I have limited myself to only one entry per letter of the alphabet and with the exception of the letters Q X and Z, there are many, many more.  I could write a complete page on each of the above and not touch the surface.

It looks to me like our President, along with his co-conspirators in the Congress, are intentionally trying to destroy the country that put them there.  To me it seems like they look at all the possible solutions to a problem and then choose the one most harmful to liberty and the American way of life.

Can this be intentional? I hope not. Do these people truly believe they are doing the right thing? I can only give them the benefit of the doubt.

I will not debate the rights and wrongs on each issue. I don’t wish to take the time. I am not an elected official and do not vote on things that can take away the rights of the individual. My opinion is just that, my opinion. It wields no power.

What I will do (and encourage you to do it you think as I do)  is work hard to see that more reasonable people are elected to public office, ones who will have read and understood the Constitution they will asked to swear to uphold.

Published in: on March 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://p3bfco.wordpress.com/2009/03/22/where-to-begin%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I totally agree with what you are saying. Both sides of the aisle seem to forgotten who they work for. 2010 is going to be so critical to the future of our country.

  2. Harv and I completely agree.

  3. Rick,

    I agree with everything you wrote except for one statement:

    “My opinion is just that, my opinion. It wields no power.”

    You do have power:

    You still have the power to vote

    You have the freedom of speech, which you have always used 🙂

    You have the right of assembly, that can be used to get like minded people together to work for change.

    Keep up your hard work and your pursuit of happiness.

    Greg


Leave a Reply

