On this Thanksgiving Day….

On this Thanksgiving Day….

As many of you know, I rarely let one of these major holidays go by without a thought or two. Those thoughts this day are ones of thankfulness. Thankfulness to my God to have let me live in what is still the greatest nation on the face of the Earth. I mentioned last year that I was thankful that God allowed me to be born here rather than Chad or Somalia. In a country where those born in the worst conditions (of a single welfare mother on crack in inner city Baltimore) has a better chance of success than almost anyone born in Ethiopia.

Personally, I have much to be thankful for this day. I am healthy. I am not rich by any means but I’m not poor. I am well fed. I don’t lack for heat or a roof over my head. I have a loving family and good friends.

I am thankful to my God today, thankful that He has allowed me to live in a country born and based on Judean – Christian morals and ethics. A country, conceived in liberty, that holds that a life is a precious thing and not something to squander. A country that (so far) allows me peaceably assemble and denounce those things I find wrong with the way governance is occurring.

I am thankful today for the many young people who have chosen to give up several years of their lives (at the very least) to protect the nation I hold close to my heart. I am particularly thankful for one soldier who is close to me. I am thankful for the protection of Mighty Providence over all our fighting men and women.

Yes today is a day to thank the God you worship for all the good things in your life. I have pity on those who do not believe in a Higher Power today. They are denying themselves the chance to know what it is to be truly thankful.

Published in: on November 26, 2009 at 10:11 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://p3bfco.wordpress.com/2009/11/26/on-this-thanksgiving-day%e2%80%a6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Rick, I am thankful for you who warm my heart with your observations and ruminations.

    God Bless,
    Steve

  2. What Steve said !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Mike


Leave a Reply

