Where are the songs?

 

As many of you know I am semi retired.  I augment my meager pension with some selling on eBay.  Recently I went to an estate sale and bought several hundred player piano rolls.  Many of these are from World War One (for those with a public school education, that war was fought between 1914 and 1918 – It was the first time we fought Germany – not the second time when we fought Hitler).

Why am I talking about this?  The songs!  There must have been hundreds of patriotic songs during that war.  “Over There” is one many remember.  But how about “The Navy Took Them Over and The Navy Will Bring Them Home”.  Or perhaps “Keep the Home Fires Burning“.  There is even one called “If He Can Fight Like He Can Love … Goodnight Germany“!

Why am I bringing this up?  About nine years ago some people with more radical ideas than the Germans ever had took it upon themselves to destroy several buildings in New York, part of the Pentagon, four airplanes and most of all… countless lives.  The intent was to bring the economy, the military and the government of the United States to it’s knees.  A far more violent act than anything Germany did.  Yet…. Hardy a song.  I can think of two, both sung by country singers.

Is it that no one cares about our country anymore?  I don’t think so.  Perhaps there are no new patriotic songs being written?  I think that would also be a stretch.  With such a violent and coldhearted attack, not on fighting men, but civilians (including children) one would thing this brutal act would have triggered some artists and song writers into action.  I am not convinced that we, as a nation, are so unfeeling that we could not create more than two songs supporting this great land, and the people who protect it.

It becomes apparent to me that the entertainment industry become so controlled by the left that no patriotic music can make through the vetting process.  The entertainment industry (and that includes Hollywood) has been so corrupted by people who hate what this nation is and despise it’s roots, that they will not let the true American spirit shine through in song or on screen.

Having vented, I think now I will go back to work, selling the songs of yesteryear, when people in entertainment were proud of America and not bent on “Change” ing  it.

Think I’m too far out on this one?  Prove me wrong…. Send me the MIDI file of “Rap for America – A Tribute”.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://p3bfco.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/where-are-the-songs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Yes, I agree…..the songs of yesteryear are the best!!! Debbie


Leave a Reply

