Let’s avoid the circular firing squad.

The conservative community doesn’t like Mike Rounds as the Republican candidate for Senate.  They say Rounds is too liberal, that he favors big government.  I certainly can agree that Mike Rounds is not a true conservative. However, neither is John Thune or Kristi Noem. They have all done things that have set me walking in circles talking to myself.
Having said that, John, Kristi and Mike will vote 80% of the time to the right of the chart. A democrat (regardless of the place holder) will vote to the left of center nearly 100% of the time.
I surely wish we conservatives had someone on deck that could run a viable campaign against Mike Rounds but that isn’t the case. So… what to do? I’m stuck, again, supporting the liberal lite over the progressive left candidate. Voting third party or simply staying home is not an option. That just gives my vote to the left.
I  would like to stress one thing that I think is important. The one thing I will not do is join into this circular firing squad that is forming inside the Republican party. That simply gives more ammunition to the Progressive left. We need a deeper conservative bench. This is imperative. Today, we don’t have one. I have little to no enthusiasm with our current federal representatives or candidates. Our true conservatives (Stace Nelson, Betty Olsen, Brock Greenfield, Dan Kaiser et al.) are all good people, but they aren’t yet ready for prime time. That day will come and on that day I will blister my hands pounding in highway signs for them. BUT today….. I’m left with a bucket that has a hole in it.  Instead of this being a ringing endorsement for Mike Rounds, I’m giving an affirmative shrug.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://p3bfco.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/lets-avoid-the-circular-firing-squad/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

